You can either permanently remove (delete) users and their associations, or just make them inactive (you can reactivate them at any time).
If your organization wants to free up a user license, it can be accomplished through either removal or deactivation.
When a user is removed from Responsive, any historical data associated with their account (such as comments and responses) is retained, but you must reassign ownership of all of their open tasks to another user when you remove the account.
When a user is deactivated from Responsive, their historical data is retained, and you can decide whether you want to reassign ownership or not.
Once a user is deactivated, they can't log into the application and no tasks can be assigned to them.
Deactivated users have a status of Inactive in Organization Settings; however, you can reactivate them at any time.
You must be an Admin in order to deactivate or remove users.
Go to Organization Settings > Users > Manage Users and check the box next to the user you want to deactivate.
Click the More Options menu and select Deactivate User.
Select from the following on the Confirm Deactivation pop-up:
Deactivate User without Ownership Transfer.
Reassign Ownership and Deactivate User. If you choose this option, fill in the fields and click Reassign Ownership and Deactivate. The user will be deactivated and ownership transferred.
Go to Organization Settings > Users > Manage Users and check the box next to the user you want to reactivate.
Click the More Options menu and select Activate user.
Go to Organization Settings > Users > Manage Users and check the box next to the user you want to remove.
Click the More Options menu and select Remove User.
Click Delete on the Confirm User Deletion pop-up.
Complete the details on the Reassign ownership window, then click Reassign ownership to permanently remove the user.
Note: Only users with Super Admin permission can remove users in bulk.
You can remove more than one user at a time by selecting the checkboxes next to their names and then selecting Bulk Delete from the menu.
You will be prompted to confirm the deletion. If any of the deleted users has been assigned as the following, you will be prompted to assign new users:
Owner for sections and tasks
Owner for documents, Answer Library/Content Library content, section templates
Primary Contact or Additional Primary Contact for projects
Owner for Content Analysis Workspaces
Owner for a project templates
The user deactivation date is not available as a dedicated field in standard reports. To identify when a user was deactivated, administrators can use the Activities log.
Go to Organization Settings > My Organization > Activities.
Apply the following filters:
Entity Type: Users
Activity: Edited
(Optional) Use the Performed By or Date Range filters to narrow your results.
Review the results for the specific user. The timestamp of the "Edited" activity associated with the account deactivation serves as the deactivation date.
You can Export these results if you need to maintain the information for external auditing.
Note: The deactivation date is derived from activity history and is not currently available as a standalone reporting field.