Save as PDF

Using the Library Trash

Overview

You can delete content from the Library and from Moderation, moving them to the Library Trash. You can restore deleted items in certain cases.

  • Only content that users can read or edit are displayed. Users can restore, or permanently delete, only the pairs that they can edit.
  • Users can only restore pairs from collections and business units (BUs) that they can access.
  • Deleted content remain in the trash for 30 days, after which they are deleted permanently.

Use Case: You accidentally deleted a Q&A pair in the Library or in Moderation, and you want to restore it.

Restrictions

Content cannot be restored under the following circumstances:

  • When a Q&A pair/document is sent to Moderation, and is then rejected there, it goes into the trash.
    • If the version that is still in the Library goes into Moderation again, and the change is accepted back into the Library, the version in the trash cannot be restored.
    • The version deleted from the Library can be restored but the version rejected from Moderation cannot.
  • If you use the Duplicate report, or Deduplicate function, to delete Q&A pairs, they do not appear in the trash; they are deleted permanently.

Review Cycle Impacts

We retain a record of the review schedule assigned to content even when they are in the trash. If a pair is restored, the review cycle continues as though the pair had never been deleted, for example:

  • A content will not be sent out for its regularly scheduled review as long as it is in the trash.
  • If a content is moved to trash before its review date, and is restored during or after its review date, its status after the restoration will be Pending Review. It will still need to be reviewed.
  • If a content is deleted during the review period, and is restored immediately (still within the review period) or after its review date, its status after the restoration will be Pending Review.
  • If more than one person is scheduled to review the content, reviews and updates made before the deletion will be kept after the restoration, regardless if the review order is Any or All.

Permissions

The ability to restore deleted content depends on your permissions.

  • In general, your ability to see and restore content in the trash mirrors your Library permissions. If you can see a content in the Library, you can see it in the trash.
  • If you can delete a content from the Library, you can permanently delete it or restore it from the trash.

Library Permission

Task

All

User can restore any content that was deleted from the  Library

My

User can restore content from the Library where that user is the owner

None

User cannot restore any content from the Library

 

Moderation Permission

Task

All

User can restore any Q&A pair/Document that was discarded from Moderation

My

User can restore Q&A pairs/Documents from Moderation where that user is the moderator

None

User cannot restore any Q&A pairs/Documents from Moderation

Select the applicable tab for your edition of Responsive.

  • Viewing and Filtering Content in the Content Library Trash

    1. Click the Trash icon from the left navigation pane of the Content Library.
    2. The trash is automatically filtered based on the user who deleted the content. To see all of the currently deleted content, click the X after the person’s name to remove the filter. All deleted items are listed, tab-wise.
    3. Use the following options to help you locate an item:
      • Click the Filter filter_icon.png icon at the top of the tab to see additional filter options. You can select from a number of filters to find content ( such as questions or answers, section name or content, merge tag value or catalog display name, specific tags, who deleted the content, and more; scroll down to see all the options), then click Apply.
      • Use the green Plus plus_icon.png icon to add a filter and the red Minus minus_icon.png icon to remove one. Click + Add Filter to see more filter options. 
      • To sort the trash, select a criteria from the drop-down list.
      • Toggle the Sort By sort_by_icon.png icon to sort results from newest to oldest.
      • Click the Menu more_options_menu.png  icon next to the item to view its properties and activities.

    Restoring or Deleting Content from the Content Library Trash

    Deleting and restoring content creates entries in the Activities log. You can quickly items, or delete them permanently, by doing the following:

    1. Click the Trash icon from the left navigation pane of the Content Library.
    2. Locate the item you want to delete or restore, then click Restore to restore the item or Delete Forever to remove the item.
      Note: Content that have been deleted appear on cards in the Content Library Trash. See Content Library Trash Cards below for detailed information on these cards.
      • You can restore or delete multiple items by selecting the checkboxes associated with them, or by clicking the Select All checkbox at the top of the page.
      • If you have multiple pages of deleted content you can specify if you want to select all the items from the current page or from all pages.

    Setting the Trash Retention Period

    Content sent to the Content Library Trash will be retained for 30 days by default, but you can change it:

    1. Go to Organization SettingsContent Library > Preferences, then scroll down to the Trash Retention Period setting. 
    2. Click the Edit icon.
    3. Change the retention period to a number between 30 and 90. If you are reducing the current value, you will receive a warning that the content past the new value will be deleted automatically.
    4. Click Submit.

    Changing

  • Essentials features are subscription-based and may not be available for all users. Contact your account manager, or accountmanagers@responsive.io, for more details.

    Viewing and Filtering Content in the Content Library Trash

    1. Click the Trash icon from the left navigation pane of the Content Library.
    2. The trash is automatically filtered based on the user who deleted the content. To see all of the currently deleted content, click the X after the person’s name to remove the filter. All deleted items are listed, tab-wise.
    3. Use the following options to help you locate an item:
      • Click the Filter filter_icon.png icon at the top of the tab to see additional filter options. You can select from a number of filters to find content ( such as questions or answers, section name or content, merge tag value or catalog display name, specific tags, who deleted the content, and more; scroll down to see all the options), then click Apply.
      • Use the green Plus plus_icon.png icon to add a filter and the red Minus minus_icon.png icon to remove one. Click + Add Filter to see more filter options. 
      • To sort the trash, select a criteria from the drop-down list.
      • Toggle the Sort By sort_by_icon.png icon to sort results from newest to oldest.
      • Click the Menu more_options_menu.png  icon next to the item to view its properties and activities.

    Restoring or Deleting Content from the Content Library Trash

    Deleting and restoring content creates entries in the Activities log. You can quickly items, or delete them permanently, by doing the following:

    1. Click the Trash trash_icon_black.png icon in the footer menu of the Content Library.
    2. Locate the item you want to delete or restore, then click Restore to restore the item or Delete Forever to remove the item.
      Note: Q&A pairs and files that have been deleted appear on cards in the Content Library Trash. See Content Library Trash Cards below for detailed information on these cards.
      • You can restore or delete multiple items by selecting the checkboxes associated with them, or by clicking the Select All checkbox at the top of the page.
      • If you have multiple pages of deleted content you can specify if you want to select all the items from the current page or from all pages.

    Setting the Trash Retention Period

    Content sent to the Content Library Trash will be retained for 30 days by default, but you can change it:

    1. Go to Organization SettingsContent Library > Preferences, then scroll down to the Trash Retention Period setting. 
    2. Click the Edit icon.
    3. Change the retention period to a number between 30 and 90. If you are reducing the current value, you will receive a warning that the content past the new value will be deleted automatically.
    4. Click Submit.

    Changing

Was this article helpful?

/