Save as PDF

Updating Source Files

Overview

You can update the initial questionnaire file with a new questionnaire file without losing its progress if the RFP issuer sends a new version of the initial questionnaire. Any new update (addition, deletion, or modification of questions) to the initial questionnaire file will be reflected in the project without the loss of any data already entered by the user.

  • This feature is document specific and is also available for projects with multiple source files.
  • If the response is changed in the source file and then re-uploaded, the application will duplicate the response.
  • When you try to open a project where the source file is being updated, the following message appears:

Select the applicable tab for your edition of Responsive.

  • Updating Source Files

    1. From the project’s Section window, click Menu and select View Import Configuration. The source document configuration window appears.
    2. From the Source Document Configuration window, click the Menu icon and select Update Source File; then, click Proceed on the warning message that appears.
    3. Click Upload from local drive on the Update Source File pop-up, then browse to and upload the updated source file. Alternatively, you can click the file and drag it to the pop-up window to upload it.

      • The initial source file and the new source file being uploaded should be of the same format.
      • MS Excel and Word files are supported.
      • If the initial source file is translated, then the option to update the source file will not be available.
      • If the initial source file is being used in Requirement Analysis, then the option to update the source file will not be available.
    4. Once the file is uploaded, the Result Summary pop-up displays and the files are compared. When the Applying Change pop-up appears, click Yes to copy the configurations from the initial questionnaire file to the newly uploaded file.

      • You cannot reverse this process once you choose to copy the configurations.
      • Updating the source file resets the status of updated questions to Not Answered and the status of updated sections to In Progress.
    5. Do one of the following:
      • If the configurations were copied successfully, the results are displayed as shown below. Review the information, then click View Sections to view the sections.
        • The count of questions added/deleted and sections added/deleted are displayed separately.
        • All questions and their responses are carried over to the new file.
        • Any deleted sections/questions are available under the project's Deleted Sections.
        • An email notification is sent to the team members, authors, and reviewers to inform them of the changes made.
      • If the uploaded file was the same as the initial questionnaire file, the following message appears. Do one of the following:

        • Click Configure to manually configure the file.
        • Click X to close the pop-up and abort the process, then click Yes on the confirmation message that appears.
        • Click Yes to abort the process.

    Viewing Deleted Sections

    1. Select Deleted Sections from the project's menu. The Deleted Sections pop-up appears.
    2. Select a section, then click Restore to restore it or Delete Permanently to delete it permanently.
      • Once a deleted section is restored, you can only export it to a template; the option to export to the target source file will not be available.
      • If one or more questions are deleted from a section, instead of the entire section, it will be listed as Partially Deleted. When restored, the deleted question is restored in the file.
  • Essentials features are subscription-based and may not be available for all users. Contact your account manager, or accountmanagers@responsive.io, for more details.

    Updating Source Files

    1. From the project’s Section window, click Menu and select View Import Configuration. The source document configuration window appears.
    2. From the Source Document Configuration window, click the Menu icon and select Update Source File; then, click Proceed on the warning message that appears.
    3. Click Upload from local drive on the Update Source File pop-up, then browse to and upload the updated source file. Alternatively, you can click the file and drag it to the pop-up window to upload it.

      • The initial source file and the new source file being uploaded should be of the same format.
      • MS Excel and Word files are supported.
      • If the initial source file is translated, then the option to update the source file will not be available.
      • If the initial source file is being used in Requirement Analysis, then the option to update the source file will not be available.
    4. Once the file is uploaded, the Result Summary pop-up displays and the files are compared. When the Applying Change pop-up appears, click Yes to copy the configurations from the initial questionnaire file to the newly uploaded file.
      • You cannot reverse this process once you choose to copy the configurations.
      • Updating the source file resets the status of updated questions to Not Answered and the status of updated sections to In Progress.
    5. Do one of the following:
      • If the configurations were copied successfully, the results are displayed as shown below. Review the information, then click View Sections to view the sections.
        • The count of questions added/deleted and sections added/deleted are displayed separately.
        • All questions and their responses are carried over to the new file.
        • Any deleted sections/questions are available under the project's Deleted Sections.
        • An email notification is sent to the team members, authors, and reviewers to inform them of the changes made.
      • If the uploaded file was the same as the initial questionnaire file, the following message appears. Do one of the following:

        • Click Configure to manually configure the file.
        • Click X to close the pop-up and abort the process, then click Yes on the confirmation message that appears.
        • Click Yes to abort the process.

    Viewing Deleted Sections

    1. Select Deleted Sections from the project's menu. The Deleted Sections pop-up appears.
    2. Select a section, then click Restore to restore it or Delete Permanently to delete it permanently.
      • Once a deleted section is restored, you can only export it to a template; the option to export to the target source file will not be available.
      • If one or more questions are deleted from a section, instead of the entire section, it will be listed as Partially Deleted. When restored, the deleted question is restored in the file.

Was this article helpful?

/