Symptoms
Links to previously Public Trust Centers stop working after the Trust Center is converted to Private (Invite Only).
Cause
Public Trust Centers are accessible to anyone with the link — no authentication is required. When a Trust Center is switched to private:
Note: If your organization discontinues use of the Trust Center product, previously shared links will also become inaccessible once the Trust Center is deactivated. Deactivated Trust Centers are no longer accessible to shared users.
The public URL is no longer accessible without an invitation.
Previously shared bookmarked links will no longer work for unauthenticated users.
Resolution
Admins: Admins can restore access for specific viewers; go to the Access tab of the Trust Center and invite them individually. They'll receive an email with a new access link.
Note: Invited viewers may be prompted to verify their email with a one-time password (OTP) when accessing the Trust Center for the first time after the visibility change.
Viewers: If you previously had access and now see an error, contact the Trust Center owner to request a new invitation. Viewers must now be explicitly invited and may need to verify their identity via OTP.
Symptoms
User don't receive the OTP email when requesting access to a Trust Center or shared documents.
Cause
OTP behavior may differ when access is extended rather than granted for the first time, or their email is incorrectly listed in the shared members list.
Resolution
Verify the following:
Confirm whether the user's access was newly granted or extended/renewed. OTP behavior may differ when access is extended rather than granted for the first time.
Ask the user to check their Spam/Junk folder for the OTP email.
Verify that the user's email address is correctly listed in the shared members list.
If the user still does not receive the OTP after completing these checks, contact Support at support@responsive.io and provide the following information:
Company ID
Trust Center (Profile Center) link
Affected guest user email address(es)
Symptoms
Viewers receive an error when trying to access your Trust Center
Cause
The viewer doesn't have a valid email so the OTP email can't be delivered and verification can't be completed.
Resolution
Determine if their email address is configured as an email alias rather than a direct inbox. If the email is an alias that doesn't have a valid inbox, the OTP email can't be delivered and verification can't be completed.
Confirm the email type: Ask the user (or their IT team) whether the email address used for access is a direct inbox or an alias. Aliases typically cannot receive emails independently.
Re-invite with a direct inbox email: If the email is an alias, revoke the current access and re-invite the user using their direct inbox email address.
Resend the invitation: If the email is valid but the user didn't receive the invite, go to the Access tab > Shared Members, click the three-dot menu next to the user, and select Send Link Again.
If the issue persists after confirming a valid direct inbox email, contact support@responsive.io for further investigation.
Note: Support can't grant or modify Trust Center access directly — this must be done by the Trust Center owner or Admin.
Symptoms
Viewers can access your Trust Center but can't view its documents.
Cause
Their access was revoked or permissions changed, the documents no longer exist, or they're experiencing browser issues.
Resolution
Confirm the viewer is signing in with the same email address used for the request.
Verify that the access request was approved successfully.
Verify their access wasn't expired or revoked.
Ensure the viewers permissions haven't changed.
Verify there are no browser cache or session issues. Ask them to refresh their session or sign in again if necessary.
Confirm they have access to the correct document collections and no organization-specific access restrictions are in place.
Verify the documents are published and they haven't been archived or removed.
If the issue persists after verifying the above information, contact support@responsive.io for further investigation.
Note: Support can't grant or modify document access directly — this must be done by the Trust Center owner or Admin.
Symptoms
Subscribers receive Document or FAQ change notifications even when the Update Note/notify checkbox is disabled.
Cause
This is expected behavior because Trust Center has two separate notification mechanisms, Update Note email notifications and Daily batched email notifications.
Update Note email notifications: When someone publishes a document change and uses the Update Note checkbox, an immediate notification about that specific update is sent.
Daily batched email notifications: Notifications for Document changes available and FAQ changes available are not sent immediately when the Update Note checkbox is disabled. Instead, they are grouped and sent once per day to all subscribers of the applicable Trust Center profile.
The notification is not limited to the user who made the document or FAQ update. Therefore, if an unexpected email address is receiving these notifications, verify whether that address is included in the Trust Center's subscriber list.
An email address that was added during previous testing or other activities will continue to receive notifications until it is unsubscribed or removed from the Trust Center's subscriber list.
Trust Center Admins can control whether visitors can subscribe to updates at the Trust Center level by using the Subscription button. See Managing Trust Center email notifications for more information on unsubscribing.
Resolution
You can't selectively suppress the daily batched Document changes available or FAQ changes available notifications for individual updates and they aren't controlled by the Update Note/notify checkbox.
The Update Note checkbox controls the immediate notification for a specific update and functions independently of the daily batched notification; it does not prevent the change from being included in the daily batched notification. Even when Update Note is unchecked, changes made during the day are still included in the daily batched notification sent to subscribers.